Skip to content ↓

National Professional Qualifications

Our NPQs are designed and delivered in partnership with the Teacher Development Trust (TDT).


You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please


Headship (NPQH)

Create a culture of excellence across your setting. Develop your team and bring them with you on the journey.

Find out more here

Early Headship Coaching Offer

Targeted support to headteachers who are within the first five years of their headship (in partnership with Educate Norfolk).

Find out more here

Senior Leadership (NPQSL)

Ensure collective accountability for planning and implementing whole-school change with senior leadership responsibility.

Find out more here

Early Years Leadership (NPQEYL)

Lead successful improvement and change in your nursery setting, whether PVI, school-based or maintained nurseries, or childminder.

Find out more here


Leading Teacher Development (NPQLTD)

Develop the teachers in your school through coaching, mentoring, and designing and implementing effective CPD programmes.

Find out more here

Leading Behaviour and Culture (NPQLBC)

Improve pupil wellbeing through consistency of approach and practice. Create a warm whole-school culture.

Find out more here

Leading Teaching (NPQLT)

Lead high-quality teaching and curriculum development, securing phase- or subject-specific excellence.

Find out more here

Leading Literacy (NPQLL)

Lead on effective strategies to improve literacy outcomes in your school. Develop others and create change.

Find out more here

Leading Primary Maths (NPQLPM)

Deepen your knowledge of mastery approaches to teaching mathematics and embed these approaches across a school.

Find out more here.


Funding for autumn 2024

Funding for autumn 2024 will target those teachers and leaders who work in the most challenging schools or educational settings, serving more disadvantaged communities. 

Funding to cover the full NPQ course cost will be available to teachers and leaders from:

  • The 50% of schools with the highest proportion of students who attract pupil premium funding
  • 16 to 19 educational settings identified as having high disadvantage.

For the early years leadership NPQ (NPQEYL), highly disadvantaged early years settings will also be eligible.

Full funding will continue to be available to all teachers and leaders from publicly funded schools and 16 to 19 educational organisations for the following NPQs:

  • Leading primary maths (NPQLPM)
  • Headship (NPQH).

For the early headship coaching offer (EHCO), funding to cover the course fees will be available if you are in your first 5 years of headship in England in a state-funded school or state-funded 16 to 19 organisation. You should also be doing or have done the NPQH.  

This announcement covers the autumn 2024 NPQs only. Funding for spring 2025 has yet to be announced.

The autumn 2024 funding announcement was made on 21 March 2024. Teaching school hubs and NPQ providers have asked DfE to provide further information on which schools will be eligible for funding as a priority.

Do I need qualified teacher status (QTS)?

No! NPQs are valuable professional development for anybody working in a relevant role in a school - for example:

  • The NPQ in Leading Behaviour and Culture is ideal for pastoral support staff
  • The NPQ in Early Years Leadership is specifically aimed at childminders and nursery staff
  • The NPQ in Senior Leadership can be valuable for support staff in senior leadership roles such as designated safeguarding lead (DSL).

You will need a teacher reference number (TRN) to apply for an NPQ. If you do not have QTS you can still get a TRN - simply follow the steps here

How to apply

Applications for autumn 2024 NPQs will open in July. You can express your interest with our lead provider TDT here - more information will be sent to you when available.